Die Young
Clear selection



Collarbones’ Die Young was written over the course of a year, during the promotion of the duo’s 2011 debut album Iconography. Inspired by recollections of teen crushes – the naive, vulnerable yearning at the heart of adolescent experience – the songs emerged as a tribute to the modern mythology of youthful desire. Framed by a soundtrack of jilted R&B instrumentals, Die Young joins with whole generations mourning for their fallen idols.

Adelaide’s Travis Cook and Sydney’s Marcus Whale met on the Internet in 2007. Over the course of several years, and divided by 1150km, they pieced together a sound informed by geographical distance but basking in the warmth of digital proximity: the electronic hum, the LCD glow, the metallic sheen of laptop culture formed the unlikely basis for a sound that embraced its digital origins. This is music made with the Internet as much as music made with drum machines, vocoders and carefully distorted instrumentation.

Since the release of Iconography the duo has spent more time (physically) together than usual, supporting and playing with a slew of international and local outfits. Collarbones explored their sound and the dynamics of physical closeness over the past year, supporting Neon Indian and Daedelus and touring with label mates Oscar + Martin as well as Ghoul, Donny Benet and The Paper Scissors. The duo were handpicked to play triple j Unearthed’s Parklife slot, the inaugural Sugar Mountain Festival in Melbourne, and FBi’s Sydney Sounds Like, all tightly curated affairs. Their live shows and the release of Iconography has seen them nominated for a Sydney Music, Art & Culture (SMAC) Award as well as an AIR Award (Australian Independent Record Labels Association).

FBi Album of the Week

Radio Adelaide Feature Album of the Week

The Australian: ★★★★

Nominated for Best Dance Electronica Album, Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards

Praise for Collarbones

“Not too long ago, Sydney/Adelaide/Internet duo Collarbones pulled off a sight rarely seen in Melbourne with a hypnotic set that saw both levels of The Gasometer break out in a joyous orgy of dance. Without a doubt, these kids are set to conquer. The second taste from outfit’s forthcoming full-length Die Young sees Marcus Whale and Travis Cook team up with likeminded contemporary Guerre. The result is unabashed dreamy pop heaven, digging up a nostalgic ‘90s rave beat and marrying it with pitch-warping vocal interplay between Whale and Guerre. Die Young can’t come soon enough.”

Beat Magazine

“As much a pining R&B ballad as an eerie meditation on absence, it’s a stunning taste of the upcoming second album”



  1. Hypothermia (feat. Guerre)
  2. Die Young (feat. HTML Flowers)
  3. Too Much
  4. Missing
  5. Cocooned
  6. Teenage Dream
  7. Soul Hologram
  8. One Day
  9. Losing
  10. Red